Oklahoma Poem Contest


To celebrate National Poetry Month and Oklahoma, the Rural Oklahoma Museum of Poetry conducts an annual Oklahoma Poem Contest, with cash prizes and medals for the winners. Prizes are given out each year at Wonder City Wordfest in Locust Grove. Winners do not need to be present.

2023 Oklahoma Poem Contest Details:

To enter, write your own creative poem that honors or celebrates Oklahoma in some way.

Contest Guidelines:                             CASH PRIZES

  1. Only Oklahoma residents are eligible to enter.
  2. Poems will be judged in 4 categories: K-4th, 5th-8th, 9th-12th, and Adult
  3. Cash awards will be given in each category. Medals will be given for runners-up.
  4. The maximum length for poems is 30 lines.
  5. Poems can be rhymed or unrhymed.
  6. One poem per person.
  7. Previous winning poems cannot be submitted again.
  8. A signed Entry Form or declaration of originality (see Email instructions below) must be turned in with the poem.

Contest Evaluation Criteria:

Poems will be judged based on these criteria: imagery, creativity, language, and theme. Poems must clearly  be on the Oklahoma theme to be considered for the contest.

To Submit:                   DEADLINE: April 7, 2023

  1. Mail your poem with the attached entry form


2. Email your poem in the body of an email or as an attachment to ROMPoetry@gmail.com. Put OKLAHOMA POEM CONTEST in your Subject Line. You must include this information in the body of your email or you will not be entered in the contest:

a. Name
b. Full Mailing Address (include address or PO box, town and zip)
c. Category: K-4th, 5th-8th, 9th-12th, Adult
d. Originality Confirmation: (include this sentence in your email): I confirm that the attached poem was written by me and is original to me.
e. Complete Poem with Title

NOTE: Because of the number of entries and the time involved, you will not be notified when your entry is received. Please keep your own copy of your poem.

FOR TEACHERS: If you want to enter a group of student poems, you can send them all in the mail or in an email to us so that individual students do not have to send his/her poem in. Just make sure that each student has written the Originality sentence and included the other information above. THANKS!

Winners will be notified in advance of Wonder City Wordfest, and they will be announced formally on this page and on Facebook on that day.

2022 Oklahoma Poem Contest Winners

In 2022, we received 526 entries, the most we have ever received. Competition was extremely tough! Thank you to everyone who entered!

K-4th Grade

  1. Lizabeth Bundy, Idabel, “The Sooner State”
  2. Lana Smith, Tuttle, “Oklahoma Buffalo”
  3. Kambryi Bowles, Tuttle, “The Oklahoma Honeybee”

5th-8th Grade

  1. Tsuguaki Katoh, Tulsa, “A Place I’ve Seen Grow”
  2. Payton Marlin, Inola, “Day at the Ranch”
  3. Sadie Ferguson, Wagoner, “Oklahoma Masterpiece”

9th-12 Grade

  1. Lucas Buzzelli, Claremore, “Frogs from an Oklahoma Clearing”
  2. Reese Akins, Edmond, “My Oklahoma”
  3. Eric Geng, Norman, “Mother Oklahoma”


  1. Cody Swinson, Lexington, “A Feather Blows”
  2. Regina Philpott McLemore, Stilwell, “Shades of Oklahoma”
  3. Jeffry Baggett, Tulsa, “Council Oak Tree”

READ WINNING POEMS (pdf): 2022 Oklahoma Poem Contest Winners


Oklahoma Poem Contest Winners 2021

K-5th Grade

  1. Easton King, Lawton, Epic Charter School
  2. Panashe Mushonga, Oklahoma City, Home-Schooled
  3. Evan Foresman, Yukon, Independence Intermediate

6th-8th Grade

  1. Hayden Barrowman, Norman, Whittier Middle School
  2. Mykayla Shearer, Chickasha, Friend School
  3. TIE: Kyler Nida, Harrah, Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School
    and Hannah Joo, Norman, Terra Verde Discovery School

9th-12th Grade

  1. Emma Cinocca, Tulsa, Jenks High School
  2. Lucas Buzzelli, Claremore, Claremore High School
  3. TIE: Kayley Ray, Lenapah, Oklahoma Union
    and Kaitlyn Pierce, Nowata, Oklahoma Union


  1. Jen Handsel, Tulsa
  2. Kathy Snyman, Locust Grove
  3. Emily Geest, Stillwater
    Honorable Mention: Kathryn Lawler, Norman

The winning poems for 2021 can be read in THIS DOCUMENT. Prizes will be mailed to the winners! The winning poems will also be on display in the museum.

The Oklahoma Poem Contest takes place every year with a deadline in early April.

Rural Oklahoma Museum of Poetry
2020 Oklahoma Poem Contest Winning Poets


1st, Aunika Anderson, Spiro
2nd, Jacquelyn Magrady, Tulsa
3rd, Zachary Wilhite, Claremore

9th-12th Grade

1st, Kaylee Bowman, Grove
2nd, Justin Herlan, Bluejacket
3rd, Harley Lee, Bluejacket

5th-8th Grade

1st, Aurora Parks, Pryor
2nd, Ashlie Nguyen, Yukon
3rd, Zack Strong, Yukon

K-4th Grade

1st, Jediah Harrison, Grove
2nd, MeKenzie Smith, Yukon
3rd, Silas Jackson, Grove

Oklahoma Poem Contest 2020: Winning Poems

2019 Oklahoma Poem Contest Winners


1st, Hannah Ewton, Claremore

2nd, Darron Dunbar, Oklahoma City

3rd, Mary McCloskey, Oklahoma City


1st, Palmer Strubhar, Piedmont


1st, Lahna Erwin

2nd, Ivy Snyder

3rd, Ashley Smith


1st, Zack Strong, Yukon

2nd Alexander Spruill, El Reno & Kaylee Porter, Yukon

3rd, Leslie Bernal, Tulsa

CLICK HERE to see photos by Zack Strong’s grandfather Lonnie Rickey at Wonder City Wordfest

2019 OK Winning Poems

Poem by Darron Dunbar

Mother Oklahoma Poem Art by Darron Dunbar.jpg
Picture 113
Mary was not able to attend, but she sent this photo after she received her award.

2018 Oklahoma Poem Contest Winners

Photographs of the winners who were at the ceremony can be found HERE.

Category: K-5th Grade

Aurora Parks, Roosevelt Elementary, Pryor

Amelia Hanlan, Independence Elementary, Yukon

3rd (tie)
Madison Mennecke, LGUE, Locust Grove

Parker Hensley, Independence Elementary, Yukon

Category: 6th-8th Grade

Erin Bendabout, LGMS, Locust Grove

Jerah Bighorse, LGMS, Locust Grove

3rd (tie)
Miranda Blossom, LGMS, Locust Grove

Mya Phillips, LGMS, Locust Grove

Category: 9th-12th Grade


Jasmine Alverado, Emerson South, Oklahoma City

Sierra Murphy, LGHS, Locust Grove

Audra Cunningham, LGHS, Locust Grove

Category: Adult

Casey Mclerran, Sapulpa

Debra Martin, Edmond

Hannah Eaton, Claremore

You can read all of the winning poems in a pdf by clicking HERE.