The Book With

The Book With . . . is a unique book series. The books are detective stories in verse that are based on mysteries found in the written marginalia of old books.

Bookstore owner Perry Cassidy, proprietor of A Book a Day in fictional Shatubby, Oklahoma, has a hobby of exploring the story behind the notes that people have written in their books that wind up in her store. Follow her as she solves “book mysteries,” beginning with . . .

beaconcoverart-taketwoThe Book with the Beacon Lights

In the Book with the Beacon Lights, Perry is intrigued by the notes between two high school girls written in one’s 1948 English literature textbook Beacon Lights of Literature. When she discovers that one of the girls was murdered, the case begins!

The Book with the Beacon Lights is a publication of Bacone College’s Indian University Press and features artwork by Ray Grass and photographs by Betty Perkins.

THIS BOOK IS OUT! You can buy a print copy locally at this book store:

Pryor Book Exchange and Bible Book Store.

In Locust Grove, you can pick up a copy at Wonder City Coffee or ROMP Rummage store for $11.00.

I can also mail you a book for $11.00 + $4.00 shipping = $15.00.

Buy Now Button

You can also buy a print copy or e-book at Barnes & Noble:

Barnes & Noble

You can also get a copy of the book from me at these events:


Oklahoma Hall of Fame Museum, Aug. 3, Oklahoma City, 10:30-Noon

POEM LIFE show, Aug. 19, Pryor Cultural Arts Center, 7-8:30 p.m.

Bacone College Book Signing, Sept. 14, Muskogee, 6:30 p.m.

The second book in the series is also complete and is currently in search of a publisher.

The Book with the Broken Locket

The Book with the Broken Locket involves a 1939 edition of a Nancy Drew book, The Case of the Broken Locket. Owned by a young girl in the 1930’s, Perry finds a mystery surrounding the girl that the family has hidden for almost 80 years.

The third book in the series is being offered in a serial format through the mail.

The Book with the Good Intentions

The Book with the Good Intentions (currently available HERE by subscription) takes Perry into the recent past when she discovers the heartfelt pleas from a woman to her lover to kick the drugs and illegal activities and start afresh–all of this written in a book of Ogden Nash poetry. Will Perry discover what happened to the couple?

This 3rd book in the series is being offered in a unique serial format. For a $5 subscription fee per month ($55 for a whole year), you will get a broadsheet in your postal mail that offers two of the poems, plus a whole other novel, an original cartoon, and one short nonfiction piece. The first two issues (May 2017) are being offered as free downloads, but in June, the continuing series will only be offered by subscription.

Find out more at Journey in Words Broadsheet.